Seoul, South Korea 서울시

▸  ▸  ▸  ▸  ▸  ▸ 

I began taekwondo at the age of 6 because I wanted to be a Power Ranger. Cute, right? A dorky dream to be a ninja became a reality over the course of the next 12 years. Breaking boards became breaking bricks, colorful belts became black, student became instructor, and Saturday morning practices became elite level competitions. Much of who I am is due to taekwondo and the family I gained during those years. Blood, sweat, tears, bruises and broken bones were a part of all our lives. Taekwondo was our life as we were together in the dojang 6 days a week, every week. We trained with former Olympic gold medalists and current Olympic prospects for the 2016 Rio games. We all had, and will always have, an inseparable bond that only we could know.

The Kukkiwon is the world headquarters of taekwondo, and of course, it was closed on the day I went. While still amazing to be there, I plan to return again soon.

▸  ▸  ▸  ▸  ▸  ▸ 

▸  ▸  ▸  ▸  ▸  ▸ 

Bonus: After 8 years and a couple tries, I still (sorta) got it ☺

IMG_5127
The gate of the Kukkiwon

Thanks a million to my wonderful boyfriend for making me do this and for capturing the moment ♥

Leave a Reply

