The Isle of Man TT Races 2015

Nowhere else in the world can you literally sit next to motorcycles going over 200mph.

For those who have never heard of the Isle of Man of the TT races, I’ll briefly explain. It is an island in the Irish sea between Ireland and Great Britain. See? The tiny dot in the middle of the two below.

Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 10.10.31 PM

Each year during the last week of May and first week of June, 37.75 miles of the island’s everyday driving roads are shut down, and various motorcycle and sidecar races are held. When there aren’t races, there are other events around the island, including an airshow from the Royal Air Force Red Arrows. During the hours the races do not occur, the roads are open like normal.

The course is mapped out below, and has been the original course since the first race in 1907.

Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 10.15.57 PM

This event draws over 100,000 people to the island, and about that many motorcycles as well (can you say, heaven?) There are no tickets to purchase, and you can spectate from anywhere on the island as long as it’s deemed safe by the Marshals. One day I would love to get myself on a bike over there to ride the course, but for now I am okay just spectating on foot. It is unlike any other race I’ve ever experienced, and I plan to attend as many years as possible. Since this was my third year going, I knew of all the best spots to take my dad to fulfill his bucket list dream. Together we snapped over 2,000 photos, so it took me quite some time to narrow it down to my few favorites to share.

Leave a Reply

